August takes the cake

This month has been…wow. Nothing like turning another year older and reconnecting with family and a change of professional direction once again to make me feel humbled and grateful and all kinds of other mushy things.

IMG_1291I change plans like I change underwear. Which is often enough, thankyouverymuch. I think at 27 I’ve finally reached an understanding with myself – that this is just the way I am. If something doesn’t sit well with me, if there’s something that I’d rather be doing… then I’m going to leave it behind and go do that thing anyway.

That being said, it was incredibly satisfying to bond with my cousin who shares my stubborn/creative DIY drive. We are most certainly made from the same people.

IMG_1316

Make use of what you have – old blanket, some pillow stuffing, and a naked plywood box top turns into…

IMG_1327

An upholstered bench seat!

I have ideas for days, an endless list of projects, but my energy depletes rather quickly and I’ve been wanting–no, needing a partner in crime to help me complete some of the things that just pile up…

IMG_1248 IMG_1112

What can I say? I’m a sucker for furniture and decor, especially if it’s vintage and made out of real wood. I brake for furniture, so you probably don’t want to tailgate when I’m on the road.

I’d been hanging onto those twin nightstands for a month, and I knew exactly what I wanted to do with them. That late 19th/early 20th century desk? Jared arrived and it was like, hey we can fix that too. TIME TO GET TO WORK!

IMG_1295 IMG_1241

IMG_1288Β IMG_1289

Unafraid to use our grandfather’s old power tools, work we did. Collaborating and bringing our ideas to life was immensely satisfying, and I’m quite pleased with the end results.

IMG_1299 IMG_1298 IMG_1301

Our living room is feeling a bit fresher today too:

IMG_1386

But our home is a little emptier since the Texans left. It was a nice reminder of how lucky this family truly is, despite all of the losses and stresses and ups and downs. And it feels more and more like staying connected and true to ourselves, by doing what we enjoy most and preserving what we have, is right in line with some bigger purpose. Or so I hope…

As the month comes to a close, and fall is just around the corner, I’m feeling refreshed and excited for what’s to come.

One thought on “August takes the cake

  1. Pingback: It’s all about dressers | amanda in progress

Leave a Reply

